Click to Learn MoreClick to Learn MoreClick to Learn More

Dare to Dream celebrates another successful school year

Our Dare to Dream students just wrapped up another successful school year of learning their ABC’s (Achieving, Believing and Conceiving) with a grand "End-of-Year" celebration!  Excited students from our 10 DTD schools in the Houston Independent School District and Alief Independent School District converged on the grounds of the University of Houston for this annual event.  Atherton Elementary, Budewig Intermediate, Burrus Elementary, Chambers Elementary, Cummings Elementary, Heflin Elementary, Kennedy Elementary, Klentzman Intermediate, McNamara Elementary and Port Houston Elementary showcased amazing talent as each school performed a skit, based on the character building lessons that they learned during the 2016-2017 Dare to Dream program.  

First, second and third place awards were given to the top three skit performances. Outstanding Dare to Dream Scholars received their “Superstar Awards” from Dr. Harris, and the family of Myrta Fariza awarded the Outstanding JPO Award to Juvenile Probation Officer, Derrick Boxill of Atherton Elementary.  After the awards celebration ended, the students enjoyed a picnic on the school lawn and later witnessed a few "mind boggling" science experiments conducted by University of Houston student volunteers which included “a fire and smoke Chemistry Demonstration” and an “icy Superconductivity Lab”.  

What a wonderful end to a great year!  Take a look at our photo gallery below to take see all the fun we enjoyed.
Session Info: 117
CMS GroupId: 117
Business Entity GroupId: 0